What the 5 cent deposit??

5 cent

I work at a family convenient store part time and this customer the other day asks me “What is that 5 cent deposit you rung up?” I’m quite dumbfounded by this because I’m 24, this gentlemen is over 60, and he asks me this?

I say “That’s the bottle deposit that you just paid on your two drinks.”

Man says, “Huh is that new?”

Once again, dumbfounded. I’ve known about this since I can remember and I know it’s been around for years. Also this customer has been coming into the store for about 12 years.

Since I didn’t really know the meaning behind the 5 cent deposit. Turns out the bottle deposit was initiated to help recycling and reduce beverage containers along the highway. I’m not entirely sure that has helped much.

Leave a Reply

